Newsletter, Travel News

59 Travel Corridors Ease Quarantine Restrictions for English travellers. Great news for passengers.

04/07/2020 by .
The UK government has announced new exemptions to its quarantine regulations that will come into force from July 10th 2020. 59 travel corridors ease Quarantine Restrictions for English travellers

The UK government has announced new exemptions to its quarantine regulations that will come into force from July 10th 2020. 59 travel corridors ease Quarantine Restrictions for English travellers

Travel corridors to 59 countries will enable passengers from England to travel without any need to self-isolate for 14 days on their return unless they have visited or stopped in any other country or territory in the preceding 14 days. This applies to all travel to England, by train, ferry, coach, air or any other route.

It is important to note that these exemptions are only applicable for travel from and to England and there may be entry restrictions put in place locally by the 59 listed countries so it is important to check before planning any future travel.

Ireland, the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man are exempt as they are part of the common travel area. The 14 British Overseas Territories are also exempt. The list of acceptable travel corridors may be added to over the coming days following further discussions between the UK and international partners.

Information for travel into Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland will be published by the Devolved Administrations.

s465 dominic raab foreign secretary

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said:

“Today marks the next step in carefully reopening our great nation. Whether you are a holidaymaker ready to travel abroad or a business eager to open your doors again, this is good news for British people and great news for British businesses.

The entire nation has worked tirelessly to get to this stage, therefore safety must remain our watch word and we will not hesitate to move quickly to protect ourselves if infection rates rise in countries we are reconnecting with.”

59 Air Corridor Countries

Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, Croatia, Curaçao, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Faroe Islands, Fiji, Finland, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Greece, Greenland, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau, Malta, Mauritius, Monaco, Netherlands, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Reunion, San Marino, Serbia, Seychelles, South Korea, Spain, St Barthelemy, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Pierre and Miquelon, Switzerland, Taiwan, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Vatican City, Vietnam

The Foreign Office has also announced 67 exemptions from its World-Wide Travel Ban from 4th July 2020.  The USA, China, Russia, Portugal (other than the Azores and Madeira) and all of Africa apart from Reunion. This follows a risk assessment conducted by the Joint Biosecurity Centre, in close consultation with Public Health England and the Chief Medical Officer. The FCO’s travel advice is based on an assessment of a range of factors that could present risks to British nationals when abroad, using different criteria to the list of countries exempted from self-isolation measures. It is based on a range of factors including epidemiological risks, capacity of local healthcare systems, transport options and law and order.

Current FCO Travel Exemptions

(announced 4th July 2020)


Austria, Andorra, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France (overseas territories of France are listed separately, where included in the exemption), Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, The Netherlands (not including the constituent countries and special municipalities located in the Dutch Caribbean), Norway, Poland, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey.


Antigua & Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, Canada, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Jamaica, Martinique, South Georgia & the South Sandwich Islands, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Pierre and Miquelon, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands.


Australia, Brunei, French Polynesia, Hong Kong, Japan, Macao, Malaysia, New Zealand, Taiwan, Thailand, Singapore, South Korea, Vietnam, Wallis and Futuna,




British Antarctic Territory

The government also reminds all travellers they should always check the latest FCO travel advice for information on any health measures in place for visitors to a country or territory. These can include a requirement to self-isolate, quarantine, or undergo testing for coronavirus, or even restrictions on entry. It is also very important to check your travel insurance to ensure you have appropriate cover.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *